Jase Watford: Into The Northness: The Covid 19 TV Guide for Social Isolation (March 30/2020)

Well hello everyone,

I never thought that my own personal social isolation would actually serve as some sort of community purpose? Anyone who knows me, knows that I have watched a lot of movies and a lot of T.V. and that there is very little that I have not seen or at least heard about.

Because Covid-19 has put everyone on lock, I have taken the time to dig into my deep knowledge of showbiz in hopes to help keep people occupied with entertainment.

So what I have done is created a comprehensive list of shows and movies that you should or should not watch (this blog is T.V. shows and the next will be movies). I will break down shows/movies over the last 2 years by streaming service, provide a small synopsis, and a rating system. The rating system will be Siskel and Ebert esque, 2 thumbs up, 1 thumb up 1 thumb down, 2 thumbs down, or the middle finger. I admit I added that last one, but some shows might even get 2 middle fingers.

The Mandalorian (Disney) – This show is a lot more than Baby Yoda, but really all you need is Baby Yoda. Yes it is Star Wars, but you don’t need to know anything about Star Wars to watch it. Very enjoyable show for first timers, and for those who know the canon well, really enjoy it.

The Outsider (HBO) – Generally Stephen King adaptations are really crappy, but this one delivers. Without giving too much away, it uses a cast of relatively unknowns to tell a supernatural-esque story. Very binge worthy.

The Expanse (SYFY/Amazon Prime) – This is an absolute science fiction masterpiece. 4 seasons of story line brilliance, incredible acting to match the plot. My favorite show to watch, it has that wow factor that Lost had back in the early millennia. The show is all based in space, so it would be like a sexier version of Battlestar Galactica.

The Magicians (SYFY/Netflix) – Wrapping up it’s final season, this is my dark horse show. An adult Harry Potter, sublime acting and character development without the cheese. If you want a show to escape into, this show has it all, great story and hilarious writing.

Travelers (Netflix) – Can’t believe they wrapped the show up. Stars Will (of Will and Grace fame) where people from the future beam back into present bodies to change the future. This show is so well crafted, the story arc is amazing, the casting and acting is sublime. Just so worth watching!!!

Hanna (Amazon Prime) – Wow was this such a good show, I thought the movie was good, but man. Has a movie star cast, the writing and plot is excellent, I want a second season!!!!

The Circus (Showtime) – My only real life political show on here. It is a masterclass in reporting. It has covered Trump since the very beginning, before he was elected. Very in deep and honest take of everything going on in the American political landscape. If you miss the days before the pandemic, watch this from the start, it is in my top 5.

Hot Zone (National Geographic) – This show was amazing, except about the ebola virus soooooooo, not totally fitting to the current global crisis. But if the pandemic isn’t bothering you at all, this is well worth the binge.

Penny Dreadful (Showtime) – This show just never took off, but is soooooo good. If you like noir types, shows about myths and lore (Frankenstein, Dracula) this is a fresh and smart take, with some real panache. Based on the penny dreadful sensational tales of horror.

Westworld (HBO) – This show is not the movie, that is certain. This show is diabolical, and layered deeper than an onion. Hard to binge because of the density. But if you like your mind fucked with. This is the show to watch. It reminds me of Hannibal, with their cerebral artistry, so many Easter eggs that will have you rewinding a lot.

Chernobyl (HBO) – We all know the story, at least we thought we did? Brilliant acting, and moving series about the events in Russia. In my top 5 this year.

Devs (FX/Hulu) – Still new, 4 episodes in. Has a lot of promise and is super weird. I am hoping that it stays this way. Probably a show that you want to binge from start to finish because I am hating that I have to wait a week to watch it.

Terror (AMC) Imagine if American Horror Story was actually good?? AMC does drama, that isn’t a lie. These are like good old fashioned horror stories you read as a kid, made for T.V. Each season is different, with world class acting and plot development.

World of Dance (NBC) – How did this get in here you ask? I love dancing, and these are the best in the world. This show is in a class of it’s own for me. Every style, every age group. Just a balls out winner takes all competition. Not a reality show, just emotion evoking, world class story telling through dancing.

Wutang, an American Saga (Hulu) – The story of the Wu Tang clan, and not a cheese docu-series, it is acted by some talented kids. And of course, the soundtrack is top notch!

The Sinner (USA) – A 3 season long playing crime drama, with some really mind fucking underpinnings. Great story development and acting, season 3 isn’t as strong as the other 2.

See (Apple TV) – This show is world class, Jason Momoa plays a chief leader on post apocalyptic earth where everyone has lost their sight. Very worth your time to binge it.

Castle Rock (Hulu) – This show is superb. You have to binge both seasons back to back, there is just too much going on that if you disrupt it you will end up missing some of the important pieces. Season 2 introduces Misery origins (Stephen King) and it might be the most intricate of shows that I have listed.

Pennyworth (Epix) – Batman’s butler before the world got dark and superhero laden. This is a really clever gangster underground crime syndicate type show based in the UK. Very under rated.

Swamp Thing (Amazon Prime) – This show got canceled right out of the gate due to filming issues and consequences. Which is rather unfortunate. It isn’t your typical superhero show and was really enjoyable. Great plot, cast and acting. Shame it was cut.

Nightflyers (SYFY) – This show is the 2nd best space sci fi behind the Expanse, it is a rollecoaster, only 1 season but it is intense and packed with so much action and plot twists

Man in the High Castle (Amazon Prime) Adaptation of a Philip K Dick novel, kind of a mind fuck based on an alternate timeline, if the Nazi’s won the war. Super unique show, and it has kept me busy through 3 seasons now.

Star Trek Discovery (CBS) – Lemme say it, I am a Star Wars guy. But this is really good, 2 solid seasons with wild colors and efx. The story is unique and matches the new movies. You do not need to know anything about Star Trek, but if you are a Trekkie, make sure to dig out the ‘Star Trek’ shorts that were released in between seasons 1 and 2.

Haunting on Hill House (Netflix) – Very rarely has there ever been a good horror/thriller T.V. series. Typical plot, we have a house, and the house is haunted. But I really enjoyed this, and as a horror movie buff I am ultra critical. This meets the standards needed. A lot of jump scares with a logical and enjoyable plot.

Rick and Morty (Adult Swim) – My favorite show period, ultra intelligent, super funny, but an acquired taste. It is a cartoon family and Rick the grandfather is a scientific genius. If you are 420 friendly this will probably already be on your playlist.

Ash vs Evil dead (Starz) -YES YES YES YES!!!! This is just like the movies. Cheese horror and gore, chainsaws, demons and tacky dialogue. This show is my guilty pleasure, and reminds me of why I fell in love with horror movies in the first place.

Watchmen (HBO) Not the movie at all, and very much like the graphic comic. This is deep, riveting and packed with social commentary through art. There is no 2nd season sadly, which is a shame.

The Rook (Starz) – I loved this show, science fiction, people with telekinetic abilities, but it isn’t overloaded and superhero’d up. It was a really good drama, with the best soundtrack I have heard on a show.

The Widow (Amazon Prime) – Kate Beckinsale stars in this story of tracking down her lost husband. Sounds simple enough but there are so many plot twists, this is in my top 10. I can’t state it enough that this show was super under rated. It has no holes in it, has an excellent cast, and keeps you wanting to watch the next episode.

Marco Polo (Netflix) – Another show that wasn’t a huge hit, but was really excellent. The acting, story arc, action scenes. I won’t ruin it for you, if you start it, you won’t stop watching it. Highly recommended.

Dracula (Netflix) – Like 3 movies instead of episodes, refreshing take on the story of Dracula. I don’t want to spoil anything, but if vampires are your thing, this won’t let you down.

Doom Patrol (FX) – This comic book adaptation I was certain, was going to be a tire fire. It turned out to be really odd and different all while being truly entertaining. Like if the island of misfit toys all had superpowers and had to save the world, awkwardly.

The Ride With Norman Reedus (AMC) – I am not a big fan of the Walking Dead, or motorbikes to be honest. But Reedus is a story teller, and this show is soothing and cinematic. If you have anxiety with things right now, I recommend this 100% also if you also like the Walking Dead, this is a must watch.

Project Blue Book (History) – Yes, a new alien show to fill the gap that X Files left. This plays out more like a docu-series kinda, but is one of those shows that you can have on and enjoy the conspiracy of ‘are they really out there???’

Altered Carbon (Netflix) – Mixed feelings, movie stars were cast, but the show never really delivers. Imagine a space based science fiction version of John Wick. If that tickles your fancy then all power to you. I watched both seasons but was underwhelmed with what I watched.

Survivor (CBS) – This show isn’t all that great jumping in currently. There is a lot of backstory, and you have to really enjoy watching people in extreme circumstances. It is a social experiment and over the years it really does tackle a lot of hard hitting social issues. If you can get access to earlier seasons and watch it from the beginning, there is a lot of fun to be had killing time on this show. — You will notice that this is the only reality T.V. show on my list. I made this list as a means of escaping people behaving stupidly. If you want some of that, just go to the grocery store.

Transplant (CTV) – Probably my only Canadian show. An immigrant doctor working in a Canadian hospital. Very simple story but very watchable.

Channel Zero (SYFY) – If you like American Horror Story, this shouldn’t let you down, really edgy and creepy on their horror like take. All seasons start new with a different story.

FBI (CBS) – This is what it is. FBI hunting down criminals, I shouldn’t like it, but I do….

Mars (National Geographic) – Neat show, half fact and half fiction. What if we went to Mars?

Deadly Class (SYFY) – If you like punk music or style, this is very much an anti-establishment group of young assasins.

Castlevania (Netflix) – This is my only anime on here, taken from the original Nintendo game, they have advanced the story, I enjoyed it until the last season

Treadstone (USA) The origin of the program that created Jason Bourne, spy stuff, espionage, sexy sexy sexy.

Wynonna Earp (SYFY) – What if Wyatt Earp had a granddaughter heir, who fought the ghosts of the criminals Wyatt killed? This show will uncover that ….. It has Doc Holliday too!!

Warrior (Amazon Prime) – Kung Fu at it’s finest, nothing modern, just excellent kung fu, and kung fu story lines.

Briarpatch – Starring Rosario Dawson, still in it’s first season. This is like Quentin Tarantino had a less talented brother who tried to make a Tarantino film. It isn’t bad, but it isn’t good.

Vikings (History) – This is a long running show, a perfect fit for being locked inside, if you like Vikings of course. This is a unique but captivating show, a little history, and a little creative liberty. The cast is one of a kind, and absolutely gorgeous.

Mindhunter (Netflix) – First season was absolutely brilliant, the second was like the director stood in the middle of the creative writers meeting and took a huge shit. Sorry, I haven’t been that let down since the ending of Lost.

S.W.A.T. (CBS) – I don’t know how I watch this, totally mindless, but isn’t terrible.

Seal Team (CBS) See above.

The Blacklist (NBC) – Hard to believe that this show has staying power, I didn’t think it was sustainable but yet here we are. Not bad, not great. Not binge worthy, but here and there it can serve a purpose.

24 Hours, to Hell and Back (Fox) – Chef Gordon Ramsey, yelling at people for being stupid. He does what we all wish we could.

Star Trek, Picard (CBS)- Yes he is getting old, but these new reboots of Star Trek are really snazzy and have deeper character development than before. We have Romulans and the Borg. The season goes quick and easy, the only draw back is that you probably have to have watched STNG or the movies to get the full depth of what they are putting down.

Homeland (HBO) – The first season was unreal, and has kind of petered out since. Government spy stuff in the middle East, those days have been played to death in Hollywood I think.

Evil (CBS) – Weird seeing Luke Cage as a priest. Religion versus science, kind of a neat show, certainly easy to watch.

The Walking Dead (AMC) – Zombies, and people killing zombies. This show just won’t end. It is like Supernatural that way. I am still watching this because I am pot committed. I am past the point of no return, I just want to see the ending now. I am Neegan.

The 100 (CW) – Like most CW shows, it is super trashy, overselling the sexy, hoping it can mask the stink of bad acting and plot twists. But for some reason I keep watching this, like Arrow or the Flash. I play it to numb out from the real world.

Supernatural (CW) – After season 3 they should have ended it. Poor Castiel having to endure more and more seasons. Thankfully this is the last season. Dean’s liver can’t take anymore and he should check into booze and sex rehab.

Stranger Things (Netflix) – The first season was excellent, everything after that was unwatchable. Excellent 80s vibe that brings you back to that era of T.V. and movies. The first season ends well that if you walk away after that you won’t feel like you wasted time.

The Witcher (Netflix) – Henry Cavill (Superman) is a mythical half breed of some kind? I donno, I watched the season but can’t say I retained much, for the most part this show is forgettable.

Lost in Space (Netflix) – The first season was pretty good, the 2nd not so much. No matter how many times they remake Lost in Space the story dooms them. They get lost in space…..

Prodigal Son (Fox) – Has a power packed cast, but it seems like they are trying too hard to be edgy. Like a poor man’s Hannibal.

Chilling Adventures of Sabrina The Teenage Witch (Netflix) – I watched the first season, but bailed on the 2nd. This is pretty terrible. I loved the Archie universe growing up, but this takes it too far. It almost should be a CW show for the overt sexualization and lack of plot.

Barry (HBO) – Now I wanted so badly to like this. I love Henry Winkler and Bill Hader, but I just couldn’t get into it. It has won a lot of awards, and is popular but something about it makes me turn it off every time I try to watch another episode.

Black Mirror (Netflix) – Very Twilight Zoney, an acquired taste that I haven’t…. well acquired. A couple of episodes are okay? I don’t get the hype, I suppose that is why it has a cult following.

Manifest (NBC) – OMG is this show trash, it was like what if we combine all the greatest sci fi show ideas and use all the failed shows our network has put on about disappearing planes and people and blend them all together?

The Boys (Amazon Prime) – The aquaman knock off getting his gills abused. Google it, and that scene tells you all you need to know about this show.

Avenue 5 (HBO) – Imagine a cruise ship with coronavirus in space. This show is so bad that I wanted to find the director so that I could rifle through his pockets to get back the hour he stole from me.

Carnival Row (Amazon Prime) – There was so much hype surrounding this release to push the Amazon streaming service as it launched. That hype got me, I admit it, it got me to forget completely that Orlando Bloom cannot act. I watched the entire season and I am not a better man for having doing so.

Pandora (CW) – Remember me saying earlier, about CW making the sexy so heavy you don’t see how trash the show is? I watched the whole season. I feel dirty inside.

Well that’s it, hopefully there are some on this list that you haven’t seen and help you stay occupied.

Stay safe everyone, and look out for one another. Check back here tomorrow for another story about life in my apartment.

If inclined you can subscribe to me on youtube, follow me on Linkedin, Insta or Twitter.

Even better add your email to the mailing list for updates and new posts. If you want to comment, feel free to comment. Who knows, maybe I will reply? Or maybe not? The Mighty posted my blog and I am famous now. Famous people don’t bother with lesser forms of humans!!! Ahhhh who am I kidding of course I will, the Mighty will just give me more access to human interaction!!! The saying goes ‘strangers are merely friends that I have not met yet.’

Leave a comment